2009 Award Recipients

Ken Chapman,?EMS Provider?of the Year

The recipient of the Foundation?s second EMS Provider of the Year Award was Ken Chapman. Mr. Chapman has been involved in providing emergency medical
services to the Lincoln-Woodstock area for many years, and at the age of 62 he became a Paramedic. Mr. Chapman is involved in many community events,
including the Papermill Theater, where he not only serves on the Board but also appears in many productions.

Richard Lapoint,?Law Enforcement Officer of the Year

The recipient of the second Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award was Chief Richard Lapoint of the Pittsburg Police. Chief Lapoint is the sole full-time police officer in Pittsburg and has been the full-time Police Chief for 23 years.

Chief Lapoint is also an active member of the volunteer fire department, a member of the Ambulance Corps, and was an EMT instructor for a period of time. He often works side by side with the local Fish and Game Officers and assists them with searching for lost hunters, covering snow machine and ATV accidents, etc. He is an organizer and instructor of OHRV and Hunter Safety classes, as well as Deputy Sheriff for the County.

He tirelessly works with the youth in town, whether by spending the first week of his vacation working alongside the kids as they rake the park, sweep streets and sidewalks, and do other cleanup projects around town, or getting grants for bicycle helmets and giving bike safety instruction at school. He is an active leader in many community services, which include things like organizing the annual Fourth of July celebration and the annual Torch Run for Special Olympics. As Emergency Management Director, he has applied for and received many grants for his community and neighboring towns, which include the purchase of a Mobile Command Trailer and a regional Radio Inter-Operability Grant.

Harry T. Andross,?Firefighter of the Year

The recipient of the second Firefighter of the Year Award was Harry T. Andross, retired Chief of the Lisbon Fire Department and one of the founders of the Twin State Mutual Aid Fire Association. Mr. Andross was a Lisbon firefighter for over 50 years, and remained active with the fire department even after retirement. Harry was also responsible for founding the Lisbon Life Squad. We were deeply saddened by his passing this year.

John Scarinza,?President’s Award

The recipient of the first President?s Award was John Scarinza, recently retired lieutenant and commander of Troop F of the NH State Police.

John was raised in the North Country and attended local schools. He started his career in Law Enforcement in 1979 in his home town of Gorham. In 1982, he became a State Trooper. During his distinguished career he received several commendations, and in 1996 was promoted to Sergeant and rapidly became
Assistant Troop Commander of Troop F.

In 2003, Lieutenant Scarinza became the Troop F Commander, which he fulfilled until his retirement in 2009. While Troop F Commander, he demonstrated his strong leadership abilities, and promoted cooperation among the emergency services agencies of the North Country.

The Lieutenant?s leadership skills were tested with the line-of-duty death of Franconia Police Officer Corporal Bruce McKay ? he coordinated the public funeral and assisted the Franconia Police Chief in bringing order to chaos. His emotional strength was again tested in 2007 when his good friend Sgt. Jerry Berry succumbed to cancer. John organized work parties at his friend?s home and helped to raise funds to assure that Sgt. Berry?s son would be able to attend college.

The awardee is active with the Randolph Town Forest, which is an actively managed forest of 10,000 acres, and is also a board member of the North Country Public Safety Foundation, and chair of the Awards Committee.

Amy Austin2009 Award Recipients