2010 Award Recipients

Perry Richardson,?EMS Provider?of the Year

The recipient of the 2010 Emergency Medical Services Provider of the Year Award was Perry Richardson, who began his service in public safety as soon as he was able to join a local volunteer fire department.

Perry?s emergency service commitment started with training as a First Responder. He went on to earn his certification as an Emergency Medical Technician, and Instructor of First Aid and CPR.

He served as the local Liaison Officer during the implementation of E911 in his community and helped establish the towns? Emergency Management Plan and Hazardous Mitigation Plan. Perry was an integral part of the development of the 45th Parallel Emergency Medical Services, which now serves the upper part of Coos County. He also served on the Board of Directors for the local ambulance service, also as Treasurer and Chairman.

William White,?Law Enforcement Officer?of the Year

The recipient of the Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award in 2010 was Police Chief William White of the Hebron Police Department. He began his career in law enforcement patrolling the waters around the Lakes Region as a Marine Patrol Officer.

William was hired by his town as a police officer and through the years was promoted to Sergeant, then Lieutenant, and currently serves as Police Chief. For a period of time he concurrently held the rank of Police Chief in two communities. He is a certified instructor for Firearms Qualification and OC Spray.

He is a fixture in his community. At one time he owned and operated the local general store, and currently owns and operates his own real estate company. He brought ?community policing? to a different level, with humor and charm ? he wore a tutu with wings while helping children cross the street to attend a fairy-house festival. When complimented by parents about his attire he politely replied that he had his gun under the tutu and knew how to use it.

Roger Bradley,?Firefighter of the Year

The recipient of the 2010 Firefighter of the Year Award was Chief Roger Bradley. Roger joined the Hanover, New Hampshire Fire Department in 1964 as a Junior Volunteer while attending Hanover High School. He graduated from Albany Business College in 1969, and then joined the Hanover Fire Department as a full-time fire-fighter. Roger progressed through the ranks and was appointed fire chief in August 1986. In 1987, he graduated the National Fire Academy?s EFO program. He served as president of the New Hampshire Association of Fire Chiefs, and the New England Division of the International Fire Chiefs Association.

Sue Prentiss,?President’s Award

The recipient of the second President?s Award was Sue Prentiss, who became a leader in her chosen field and has been an active community member. Sue serves as a member of the governing body of her community and has been active in many community endeavors. She was head of a municipal ambulance service within our region. She left the ambulance service and started a career with the State EMS initially serving the trauma division.

Sue was one of 11 people nationwide to earn the Chief Medical Officer designation as offered through the Commission of Professional Credentialing. She has been recognized nationally, most recently serving as an officer for the National Association of State EMS Directors and locally receiving the NH Fire and EMS Committee of Merit?s Meritorious Service Award.

Our recipient is a published author and national speaker on Emergency Medical Service initiatives. Sue was the first EMS Bureau Chief within the Department of Safety for 8 years. She has recently left state employment to head the Concord Hospital EMS Service.

Amy Austin2010 Award Recipients